Advice needed to make guitar video’s!

Mark Pritchard

Experienced
So I have an AX8 and a Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 interface. My laptop died the other day and am thinking of getting an iMac. I need advice in what DAW to get to make guitar videos and how to use my iPhone to film then to sync the audio. I don’t think I need anything too complicated to do this but I’m a newbie to the recording side.
I don’t really want to spend too much more money until I get into it more.
Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks

I like to use Reaper for guitar videos (and all other videos). The cool thing about reaper is that you can do all your sound editing and video editing in the same program. Reaper does not have all the bells and whistles of a true video program such as Adobe Premiere, but it can easily do what is needed to make a convincing guitar video.

When syncing audio and video, you just need to get it roughly right, and then zoom into the waveforms to align them perfectly. It takes about 10 seconds to get it perfect on a sample level.

If you want to record the video with your iPhone, I would recommend getting a powerful LED white light source. iPhone recordings shot in the dark looks horrible, but with proper lighting, it can look quite good. I usually use one of these, but less can be alright.

Everything @Smittefar suggested will sort you out.

Alternatively iMovie for video editing and Garageband to track audio on a Mac will get the job done (I only recently upgraded to Final Cut after making a few hundred videos using iMovie). You're better off investing in good lighting ahead of editing software or any DAW plugins because the AX8 already sounds so good recorded DI.

Thank you both @Smittefar and @2112 (Leon) for your responses.