Advice for a total beginner (power amps, power cabs, FRFR speakers etc.)

Bill_Pap

I know it's been discussed before but since I'm a total beginner ( I just got the Axe FX III today) I need some basic advice.

I connected the axe fx straight to a keyboard amp and it sounded horribly. What do I need to make it sound properly? Do I need both a power amp and a power cab/monitor speakers? Do monitor speakers/ power cabs by themselves suffice? Can I simply connect Axe FX to a guitar power cab like Laney LFR 112 or line 6 powercab instead of getting a power amp+power cab?

I know it's been discussed before but since I'm a total beginner ( I just got the Axe FX III today) I need some basic advice.

I connected the axe fx straight to a keyboard amp and it sounded horribly. What do I need to make it sound properly? Do I need both a power amp and a power cab/monitor speakers? Do monitor speakers/ power cabs by themselves suffice? Can I simply connect Axe FX to a guitar power cab like Laney LFR 112 or line 6 powercab instead of getting a power amp+power cab?
Yes , your best starting point would be a powered FRFR or monitor (s) like the l6 power cab , no separate power amp needed unless you are driving standard unpowered guitar cabs.

Yes , your best starting point would be a powered FRFR or monitor (s) like the l6 power cab , no separate power amp needed unless you are driving standard unpowered guitar cabs.

Thank you very much!! The aforementioned guitar cabs( laney 112 and Line 6 power cab) seem to be very popular, in the forums here too, if anyone has experience of using them with the axe fx III I would be glad to hear recommendations

Search FRFR or powered monitor here on the forum and you will get more recommendations than you can handle.

One more question, I 've noticed there is a matrix fr12 cab which fractal recommends. Does it need a power amp or do you simply connect the axe fx to the cab and you are ready to play?