Action: 1.25 on low E and 1.0 on high E, too much to ask?

Megadebt

Experienced
Is setting the action at the 12th fret to 1.25 on low E and 1.0 on high E too low or too much to ask?

What do you think? I'm new to all this.

CORRECTION: I originally posted a recommendation for values at the 12th fret for determining bridge height. My apologies for any confusion; I've deleted it.

For action use 0.12" on both high and low E. Capo the first fret, press at the 15th fret, and use a feeler gauge to measure relief at the 8th fret.

Last edited:
Imo, it depends on how you bend strings. Once I changed my technique a bit, to the point of not allowing the adjacent string to be pushed with my finger, but instead, having it pushed down onto the fret, I set my action as low as possible, after I set my neck relief almost flat. Iow, with a capo @ 1, then holding the strings against the 24th fret, there's just the tiniest bit of relief @ 12. Just enough that it's there. After that, I just set the action as far down as I can, w/o any string buzz being heard amplified (you can hear it acoustically, but that doesn't matter.)

I set it that way to make fast licks easier to play. I'd say my action is about 1/16", maybe slightly less (by eye.)

Is setting the action at the 12th fret to 1.25 on low E and 1.0 on high E too low or too much to ask?

What do you think? I'm new to all this.
Out of curiosity, has this guitar been fully set up? If not, I'd recommend doing a full set up. What you'll find is that one thing affects another so there's a process to follow.