About clipping

Discussion in 'Read Me' started by yek, Feb 8, 2012.

  1. Unicorn62

    Unicorn62
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    10
    It seems to be a better way to turn down the main output about 2,0 - 2,5 in Layout section and then set the level in amp sections from that point? I could sometimes have some serious trouble when i think the dynamic in the tone was great (clean boost as well as high gain), then it often starts to clip. But I must also say I like to play to my studiemonitor out, from the DAW a little loud. The amp volume (master and level) would not be so sensitive, after that kind of adjustment?
     
  2. rolidoc

    rolidoc
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Northern Germany Niedersachsen
    I noticed a similar strange behavior of my AXE XL. Sometimes when I turn on, I was getting a subtle but audible distortion in the high end and the preset sounds like to much presence and a little bit thin but my unit wasn't connected to a soundcard or PC only to my Matrix Q12a and MFC. Sometimes a reset solves this problem sometimes not. I couldn't find the cause. Don't use active pickups, changing the cables didn't change anything. My instrument level is 50%, no red LEDs, no extreme presets. This distortion is particular clear on mid and high gain sounds but also in clear settings. The next time I turn the AXE on everything every preset sounds as it should but this problem sucks because it kills this awesome feeling playing through the AXE if everything is alright. Any suggestions?
     
  3. emmett

    emmett
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    thankyou,very informative
     
  4. Spaceace90

    Spaceace90
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    12
    Is it possible to damage the unit if the preset or the output is clipping, or can it not clip hard enough to damage anything? (Only referring to digital and output here)
     
  5. ChristThePhone

    ChristThePhone
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    370
    Location:
    Germany
    The unit will not be damaged but your speakers might not like it.
     
    Spaceace90 likes this.
  6. TheHumanStephen

    TheHumanStephen
    Expand Collapse
    Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    That answers a problem I've been having, thanks!
     

Share This Page