About clipping

Discussion in 'Read Me' started by yek, Feb 8, 2012.

  1. atyourlasthourrr

    atyourlasthourrr
    Expand Collapse
    Motivated

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    Texas
    I'm referring to output clipping.
     
    Mrcdboston likes this.
  2. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12,486
    Likes Received:
    4,587
    The output clip LED comes on 1 or 2 dB before actual clipping. If it's just flickering, you might not hear the added distortion. If it's on solid, you'll almost certainly hear it.
     
    Mrcdboston and atyourlasthourrr like this.
  3. jimmynorrisjr

    jimmynorrisjr
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Or you can get something that manages multiple guitar outputs. An amp would handle it the same as the axe, if you set it like yes says. This is probably not only the easiest way, but also maybe the more authentic way. Just my 2 cents.
     
    Mrcdboston likes this.
  4. Mrcdboston

    Mrcdboston
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    9
    I notice clipping on the ax8

    What should the output be set on
     
  5. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12,486
    Likes Received:
    4,587
    Is the clip light coming on?
     
  6. Mrcdboston

    Mrcdboston
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'm so new to it - its when I turn the last Amp level knob up
     
  7. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12,486
    Likes Received:
    4,587
    Yeah, you're probably clipping the output. There's a Main Out Clip light. Check and see whether it lights up red when you hear the clipping.

    Definitely turn that last Level knob down until the clipping goes away. If you need more volume, use the Out1 Level knob directly below it.
     
    NunoJBSilva.Guitar likes this.
  8. Mrcdboston

    Mrcdboston
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks friend :)
     
  9. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12,486
    Likes Received:
    4,587
    No problem. Did you get 'er solved?
     
  10. Mrcdboston

    Mrcdboston
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yes I just dialed her back :) thanks mate
     
  11. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12,486
    Likes Received:
    4,587
    The Clip light lives at the other end of the signal chain—at the output. It means you're overdriving the D/A converter, not the A/D converter. So you fix it by reducing the internal digital signal level.
     
    kgk likes this.
  12. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12,486
    Likes Received:
    4,587
    Watch the IN1 and IN2 lights. The top red LED starts to glow a few dB before clipping. The INSTR input has a soft limiter that's pretty forgiving. You have to nail it pretty hard to hear audible artifacts.
     
  13. Timo

    Timo
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    How much is this in LUFS? Or how do you measure the output volume - is there a standard you use?
     
  14. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12,486
    Likes Received:
    4,587
    99 LUFSballons. :)

    The maximum input and output signal levels are specified in the manual.
     
  15. Timo

    Timo
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    I can not find the information in the manual. I, at least, can not make measurement incorporating perception with the "The red LED lights at -6 dB" - the programming I do without proper measurement tools is always louder than the presets. Without ever touching the red light. The volume is all around.
    So how do you do it? Do you just flip between programs and do it by ear?
     
  16. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12,486
    Likes Received:
    4,587
    Proper measurement tools are already built in. Use the VU meters. Shoot for 0 dB on the meters. That'll get you in the ballpark, with 20 dB of headroom to spare.

    Make your final adjustments by ear—just like all other gear. :)
     
    vinnyburns and Timo like this.
  17. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12,486
    Likes Received:
    4,587
    No you didn't. What are you up to?
     
  18. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12,486
    Likes Received:
    4,587
    Ah, you're a human, not a bot. I wasn't sure, given some of the posts you've made in your first few minutes of forum membership. No offense intended. It just looked like you were in a hurry to run up a post count.
     
  19. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12,486
    Likes Received:
    4,587
    Enjoy!
     
  20. BlackHelicopter

    BlackHelicopter
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    5
    Glad I ran across this!
     

Share This Page