A big thank you to Cliff and everyone at FAS

kostein

Inspired
I would like to express my gratitude to Cliff and everyone at FAS for this amazing black box called the Axe FX. It has literally changed my life when it comes to playing/writing/recording music. I'd like to share my story of how I came to own one of these awesome boxes. I just feel the need to take this off my chest. Maybe it will be a fun read for some of you.

I've been playing guitar for 17-18 years now. I started at the age of 13 or 14. Before starting on guitar I was learning how to play keyboards for a couple of years. At 12-13 years old a friend of mine started getting me into metal and listening to Metallica inspired me to want to play guitar. My first guitar was a white Squier strat (which I still have to this day, albeit pretty beat up) and a small 15w Fender combo amp. A couple of years later my parents got me my first multi effects pedal, the Zoom 4040. At this point I was writing 'songs' and I was using a tape player to record. Needless to say everything sounded like crap but I was having a blast doing it. :D

At 18 I got my first PC which I slowly started using to record stuff in Cakewalk and Cubase. It took me a while to get the hang of it, especially learning how to write drums in midi. This eventually lead to the desire of getting better at recording/mixing. I kept at it for a number of years without really being satisfied by the result, everything sounded like a demo. I went through different multi effects pedals in my search for a better tone and recordings that didn't sound like demos. A Digitech RP-21 and another Zoom which I don't remember the model number. I never bought a decent amp and that didn't help either. During this time I had decent guitars but still whatever I did never sounded good enough to my ears.

Enter 2004.