7-string vs 6-string guitar

torkolort

Inspired
I have a JP6 and I want a JP7 as well, but at the moment I can't afford one. I figured an alternative would be to just replace the JP6. I've never played on a 7-string guitar before, so I don't know how it feels. The only reason I want one is that I want to be able to play a few songs which require it. Usually I play songs written for 6-strings. I'm wondering if it's gonna be "annoying" to have that extra string when playing regular songs. What are your thoughts about this?

Thanks!

I would imagine it's something that you would be able to get used to over time. I am a bassist that has been playing a 4 string for over 30 years. There has been a few gigs that for whatever reason, my bass was inoperable. The only other bass in the room was someone's 5 string. It really messed me up having that extra string. If I bought a 5-string for myself and practiced like crazy for a few days, I could probably get used to it. I still don't have one but decided to get a Hipshot D extender instead. Works like a charm. They do make them for guitars as well.

Lol byce, I was bout to chime in with a similar story. I made the jump a few years back to a 7 string bass. It required a bunch of changes to my technique, such as finding inventive ways to mute unused strings. Same with 7 string guitars. Each instrument has its nuances. And I plan on acquiring as many of them as I can! (without my wife divorcing me....)

I had a JP7 with the thought that it can cover any six string duties with the added benefit of the 7th when needed. After realizing that most of my time was spent playing the upper six, the extra width started to bother me. I ended up trading it in a while back and don't regret it. Jmho.

That's exactly what I'm afraid of :(