2 years with the Axe Ultra (and counting)

wembley

Inspired
Just wanted to share my experience with the Ultra as my main rig for some time now -- my ears still ringing from last night's gig :)

I've been using the Ultra extensively for nearly 2 years. My history with amps is the same as everybody else's here; tube amp lover, having owned nearly everything there is to own, and still own a few really good amps/cabs. At the time of purchasing the Ultra my main go-to rig was a modded JCM 2000 with a 2x12 V30 loaded cabinet, and a shitload of pedals. I kept that amp + a 20th Anniversary Ecstasy, a Bruno UG 20, a Blankenship Variplex and a couple of worn out Riveras (+ one or two that I can't remember right now, probably forgotten in a studio somewhere), a few good cabinets, and I kept all my pedals.

After buying the Ultra, I thought I'd give the FRFR thing a chance, and started gigging with it just using the in-house monitors at my regular club. Coming from the Marshall half stack tradition it really took some time getting used to, but I liked the sound coming from the Ultra so much I stuck with it, and eventually got used to hearing myself through the monitors. The first year I didn't get past the JCM 800 model, and used a dual JMC 800 patch with my ES 335 as the one and only sound for everything I did, just adding a few drive models, using the volume for cleanup, etc.