1st time AxeFXII user = another successful gig!

jimfist

Fractal Fanatic
I work with a lead guitarist who had been using an old (but pretty decent sounding) Lexicon MPX-G2 preamp/fx with the Signature 284 amp and 2x10 cabinet. It finally has been showing signs of crapping out for good, so I offered for him to try out my AxeFXII mk1 (17.x firmware) to use until he decides what to do. Our band does a pretty large dose of straight-ahead, hard rock and metal, with some classic rock mixed in.

Being a bassist, I've been using the AxeFx Ultra and II for quite a few years, so this is a first for me to actually be "hands-on" programming and auditioning the AxeFx in a 6 string guitar context.

As he is on the road much of the time, I set about the task or organizing presets and sounds using a spare Behringer FCB1010 as follows:

- top row switches: 6 thru 9 as preset "rig" switches; switch 0 as tuner/bypass mute
- bottom row switches: 1 thru 5 as scenes set up as 1 = cln rhythm; 2 = dirt rhythm; 3 = cln lead; 4 = dirt lead; 5 = wild card
- both clean and dirty tones were created using Scene modifiers attached to Input Trim, Gain, and Level in the amp block
- autoengaged wah set up on Exp 2 pedal

I had "rig" presets for:

- vintage/classic Fender Twin (TS drive pedal for leads)
- classic rock: Plexi 50 watt High
- hard rock/vintage metal: Marshall 800
- modern metal: Peavey 6160

All presets used UltraRes IRs in the Cab Block and the high res mode for the reverb (btw, the hi rez mode sounds exceptionally good IMO, leaps and bounds better than the normal rez mode previous). Reverb mix was set very low, around 10%+/-, but audible enough to matter.