Dumble ODS

Scott Peterson

Global Moderator
Vendor
There was a discussion that caught my eye from another thread and I posted this in response trying to help that member out. By coincidence, I just dialed this up yesterday for a client and then used it for my purposes (and my own taste) in my own presets, so I thought it might be an interesting discussion point. I am not a "Dumble" guy, expert, or anything of the sort. This is not definative, nor is it intended to be so. Consider this one guy's shot at a certain type of tone that works for him (me) and I thought it might help others to explore what this sort of amp does well.

I had a PM discussion with Scott Lerner last night; his term for this phenomenon is 'harmonic feedback'. I am no expert on the Dumble mystique at all, but due to client requests have had to make a quick study of all the Dumble magic and Lerner is a well known resource and experienced guy with the whole Dumble 'thing'.

Here is my own version of that sort of thing, preset too. Though I tend to go more for the Marshall roar and kerrang personally, this is what I do with the Dumble. Note the gain structure and 'even-ness' across the harmonic range that allows for that sort of natural sustain and 'bloom' when you hold a note. Going for that sustain, even, note chirp and bloom with the Dumble. Note I use two Own Hammer user cabs; the Mashall CB Mix versions of the EV-S T1 Studio Modern in User 13 and EV-L T1 Live Vintage in User 12. You can use the stock versions of those cabs if you do not own the Own Hammer versions. This isn't a direct attempt to ape any particular tone, just my version of a Dumble type of tone using a humbucker. I generally roll the guitar's volume off to about 8 and ride it to create some sustain and harmonic feedback when necessary

Clip:

Second version with suggestions to OD/Drive and TMB and added AFXII reverb added:

http://axechange.fractalaudio.com/detail.php?preset=1714

Last edited:
Hi Scott thanks for posting