Should I wait...?

Rootwitch

I'm relatively new to Fractal Audio Systems, and not sure what their release history has been like - I'm interested in the FX II, but, as it's been out for some time, I suspect an FX III would be right around the corner...? So... kinda like buying Apple products... Should I buy now (well, probably next month), or should I wait?

I believe they might be working on a Lower end unit, Maybe a Floor Controller all in one unit to compete with lower priced units.
Maybe a cheaper version that they could get into the Retail Market with...???
But the Axe II is so spot on with the Models of the Amps, you would definitely not be disappointed with an AxeII, if you wait for a AxeIII you could be waiting a long time.

I have a hard time believing that there will be a significant hardware upgrade to the current model since they have achieved so much with MIMIC and FW10. Frankly, I'm not sure more horsepower is needed at this point (shhhh, I don't want Cliff to hear that necessarily). I think future development will be as discussed above and hopefully continued improvement of software interface and possibly DAW integration/plugins.

That was my point ;)
Have had mine well over a year and still haven't even scratched the surface.
I can't imagine what you'd ever need to do tone-wise that you couldn't do with a II + FW10.
The cleans / crunches / heavy and everything inbetween are stellar.
Fantastic delays / wah + reverbs too.
As with anything try before you buy - plenty of videos + .mp3's floating around.

Sorry - MIMIC? FW10?

MIMIC - Axe-Fx II Wiki

Check out the latest release notes and/or all the forum traffic related to the most recent (and most significant) firmware updates. While the AxeII and its predecessors have always been the best modelers by far, with the new firmware they have achieved the closest "real amp/cab" tone and behavior from any music technology product on the market today. This is not hyperbole, it's the real deal.