Mesa Boogie Mark V + Axe FX 2 + MFC-101

Jofipe

Hello there

So for my first post I have a little question.

I have a Mark V head, and i'm about to order an AFX 2 + MFC-101

My question it... Can you use the MFC-101 to switch channels of the Mark V head aswell? The amp has some sort of input jack inputs for third party switch boards... does this apply to the MFC-101?

Rear view of the Mark V

Thanks all! :)

Pretty sure you need a midi switching device, such as THIS or similar.

I have zero hands on experience though, just internet knowledge.

Aah cool, so you connect this to the amp and to the MFC-101 ? Anyone knows if there is a midiboard out there that can "do it all" ? amp + axe fx 2

to my knowledge, there still isn't a midi board that "does it all." the closest is still the tc g system, but that is an effects board so it'd be redundant.

if your amp had midi on it, you could go out of the axefx (out/through) and into the amp with a midi cable. it makes no sense to run an ethernet 20 feet from your axe to your mfc, then a midi cable 20 feet back from the mfc to the amp.

but most amps don't have midi and use relay switches.

when i used my roadster and g system, i used a MIDI Solutions R8; MIDI to General Purpose Output r8 midi switcher. it was great, but you can't program midi channel changes on the fly. you have to preset it with a computer program. i think the amp gizmo from rjm allows you to program on the fly. the midi PC change from the axe fx (started by the mfc) sends a command to the midi switcher, which outputs the correct relay switch on the amp, thus changing channels, or boost, or whatever is connected.

but careful... as soon as i got the axe and played it through a small pa, i knew it was all i needed and sold my old rig. :)