Why does ESP custom shop uses nickel silver frets as standard

Lohengrin

Inspired
I was a bit shocked when I realized ESP original series come with nickel silver frets!

I'm far from an expert on the matter, but I thought that at least SS superiority over nickel/silver was already settled and widely accepted!!!

Is there any advantage to nickel silver?

I thought that at least SS superiority over nickel/silver was already settled and widely accepted!!!
Stainless steel is not exactly superior, it has its good aspects and its bad. Stainless steel, being much harder, tears up fret files, and luthiers tend to charge more as a result because they have to replace their files more quickly, and it takes more work when working on the frets.

Is there any advantage to nickel silver?
Yes. The traditional nickel silver, being a bit softer, has a bit darker sound in comparison. For instance, a maple fingerboard Strat with nickel silver frets sounds like we'd expect, a little bright, but switch to stainless steel, and it'll be even brighter. Is that good? Probably not if you're looking for a guitar that has a traditional sound, like an artist or custom shop guitar.

PS - I have stainless steel frets on one of my Strats, which also has a roasted maple neck and fingerboard. That guitar is much brighter than my other Strat which has a regular maple neck and rosewood fingerboard and nickel silver frets.

You can go back and forth with the pros and cons. I think at the end of the day these companies decide what's "standard" based on what their customers tend to request most frequently. I've had a respected builder try to defer me to Anderson or Suhr when I have asked about stainless steel frets. Simply saying that they've used them and the vast majority of their clientele did not like them in the end so he no longer offers them on his guitars. Fair enough.