Hearing loss...think you have it?

Tremonti

Fractal Fanatic
I have never thought about it too much. Played in loud cover bands for over 23 years now. I think I will get a test just to see soon. Anyone else?

Yup, I spent a lot of years standing next to a loud (but nice) drummer, and my hearing is Dow from 13k. Having said that, it’s not too bad and I can still get a lovely hihat sound.
Thanks
Pauly

I have never thought about it too much. Played in loud cover bands for over 23 years now. I think I will get a test just to see soon. Anyone else?

Definitely yes. That's why I've been carrying ear plugs with me all the time for the past 2 years, so I can protect my ears whenever necessary.

Being a teacher I want to be able to hear and understand my pupils, even (or especially) the quiet ones. My hearing is still good enough and I want things to stay that way.

Never felt threatening volume during rehearsals or my dozen or so gigs. The perks of a bedroom musician... :)

I probably had ringing ears 2 or 3 times after concerts. First time for about an hour after my first KISS concert :D (age ±17)

I am otherwise very careful. I've had my hands over my ears during the whole gig of a friend's loud cafe gig once. I have no idea how all other people could sit in that.

IOW, I suspect to have great hearing at 50+ still, but I'm also curious what I might have lost by now.

I do wonder what people hear that don't have tinnitus? Do they hear "nothing" or is there always some kind of signal?

In total quietness, I can often hear a "signal" of which I wonder if it is tinnitus, but as it never truly bothers me, I guess/hope it's not. (Some of it is the PC)

Last edited: