Ditch the pick?

unix-guy

Master of RTFM
Anyone here ditch the pick and play only with fingers?

I've been playing with a hybrid approach for many years as I've always found it useful for things like pianistic chords such as those often used by Eric Johnson. That eventually grew into other use cases like arpeggios and single note licks, especially when crossing strings.

For about the last year I've been trying to use the pick less and less.

Watching Jeff Beck play live is inspiring and I know years back Richie Kotzen also stopped using a pick, too.

Of course, I just watched an Andy Wood video where he's blazing chromatic lines with alternate picking :)

When I first lost my forefinger I could no longer hang onto a pick so I went pickless. I also was a big fan of Knopfler so I started playing a lot of his stuff. Then I discovered those big fat V-Picks and now I'm back to playing mostly with them.

I have played with and without a pick for years. Mostly out of laziness when I'd drop them. Last October however when playing without a pick I tore off half the callus on my index finger...took a few months to be able to play again. I don't play without one now.
IMG_20211013_164732665.jpg

I’m about 50/50, but that can change depending what I’m working on. A couple days ago I managed to break two nails, so for the next week, it’s gonna be 100% pick.

I have played with and without a pick for years. Mostly out of laziness when I'd drop them. Last October however when playing without a pick I tore off half the callus on my index finger...took a few months to be able to play again. I don't play without one now.
View attachment 95752
Ouch! That looks sore….
I was teaching a neighbor to play Stormy Monday and the next day he texted me a picture of the blisters on his fingers. So now I teach him little bits he doesn’t play enough. :)

Ouch! That looks sore….