Dual CLR’s or Dual Powercab 112 plus? Help me decide...🤔

Fractivator

Hi guys. After a couple of years of using studio monitors with my axe fx 3 (Presonus E44 and Genelec 8010) I’m looking at finally investing in a decent frfr setup.

I’m a home hobbyist player and guitar is my “me time” pleasure. I recently acquired the family teenage sleep out after my son left for Uni so able to go big for first time in 20yrs. Just purchased my first valve amp - Mesa TC 50 with 212 recto vertical cab. It’s a joy for sure but so is my axe fx. I choose to drive a 10 year old car & this is where I’d rather channel my disposable income.

I’ve done my research and the consensus seems CLR is the way to go. I’m on the wait list last 6 mths and hear of guys waiting years...my question here is do I continue holding out for CLR’s to come available or do I just pull the trigger on 2 x 112 powercab +’s which I could buy now. Personally, I’d go 2 CLR’s if they were available. I don’t want to do the purchase / sell / purchase thing so I will be stuck with what I get. Is PC going to leave me feeling wanting or is it good enough to put a smile on my face with no regrets? Money is less of an issue as I know the 2 CLR’s would be more coin...really not wanting to wait another year or more if I can avoid it UNLESS the CLR’s are worth it.

What would YOU do? I’m interested to here your perspectives out there.

Cheers

CLRs have been on wait-list status a long time. I think the last time I saw reports of them shipping was at least 12 months ago.

Yeah - I’m not sure I can wait indefinitely but otherwise they are what I’d go for. Thanks for the reply Unix-guy

Well I have had both, and kept the CLR. The CLR’s are flatter and just a better monitoring solution than the powercab IMHO. Another option that I prefer over the powercab is the Laney LFR in the 1x12 emulation mode (cab sim off in the Axe FX)