PRS Body Refinish

JoKeR III

Fractal Fanatic
Been debating whether to post this with all of the other talented luthiers, builders and finishers on the forum but here goes. Friend of mine got this CE22 a few years ago for a steal but really couldn't stand the color. He knew I had painted/finished other guitars and asked if I would refinish it for him. My background is as a cabinet finisher and novice artist so I enjoy the opportunities to do stuff like this.

Original Color:
1630710405788.png1630709894593.png

The reason some grain pops and not all is it was originally black stained and sanded before the final colour and some of the black remains.
I presume you have seen this technique .

The reason some grain pops and not all is it was originally black stained and sanded before the final colour and some of the black remains.
I presume you have seen this technique .
I have painted a few guitars but not much experience with transparent guitar finishes. It's been interesting discovering how the guitar was finished, or at least appears to have been finished. The dark areas appear to have been a dark grain filler, then another clear grain filler/sealer was applied upon which the stain was applied.
What materials are you finishing with?

For the stain/dye, I'm using Mixol tints in alcohol, sealer is universal shellac sanding sealer. Final color/shading coats and top coats will be Crystalac Brite Tone. There's a couple of 'blotchy' areas that bug me but I'm pleased with where it is at this point. These areas will be remedied during the next couple of color applications.

Think this is the first I've heard of someone refinishing a PRS. Too nice to risk it usually.

Well done.