AFIII I'm fairly new to high gain tones, is this good? (Tool - Invincible)

DLC86

Fractal Fanatic
Hi, as title says I've started digging into high-gain just recently cuz I've always been a blues/classic rock player mainly.
I'd like to hear your opinion on this tone and eventually suggestions on how to make it better, cuz I'm still not entirely satisfied especially on palm mutes and in the high frequencies (maybe it's my guitar's fault though, I played it with a SSS strat 😅)

Sorry for the little mistakes

Last edited:
Hmm.

When you said you were working on high gain tones I was expecting something with a little more crunch.

I thought it was a really nice tone, but a tone intended for a more subdued mood. Obviously, the note/chord selection of the song contributes to that impression...so, tone fits the song perfectly.

Still, it didn't get as aggressive as I would have expected from the term "high gain." So maybe you were just going for something different than what I think of, when I use that phrase.

But you did mention this was with an SSS Strat. Perhaps it would crunch up a lot more if you were feeding it from some modern-style high gain humbuckers? If you don't have one handy, you could always slam the front-end with a pedal (or drive block, or even EQ block) that forces more high-mids breakup.

All in all: Sounds nice! Fits the music, no matter what adjectives one uses to describe it.

Last edited:
Hmm.

When you said you were working on high gain tones I was expecting something with a little more crunch.

I thought it was a really nice tone, but a tone intended for a more subdued mood. Obviously, the note/chord selection of the song contributes to that impression...so, tone fits the song perfectly.

Still, it didn't get as aggressive as I would have expected from the term "high gain." So maybe you were just going for something different than what I think of, when I use that phrase.