QSC K.2 with FRFR -- Any Good?

vika12

Experienced
I'm looking for a backup active to my CLR, which is out for repair. I play indoor and outdoor gigs usually 50 to 100 people. I'm thinking of the QSC K.2 8" as a lightweight solution. Does anyone have experience with these / any advice? Thanks!!

I've used the K10 for small gigs and liked it.
I've worked a lot with the KW 112 and think that this is their best sounding option for guitar.
I'd say "TRY IT AND SEE!"

I have no experience with the CLR but the K series and the CP series both sound top notch. Super clear, built to last and get plenty loud. Across the board I can't think of anyone that didn't like them.

Just to warn you, the QSC sounds nothing like the CLR. I have CLR's and a K10. They sound nothing alike to my ears, and I would find it difficult to play through a K10 again now that I have used the CLR. But in a pinch, you will at least be able to hear yourself. Why not just pick up another (used) CLR?

Just to warn you, the QSC sounds nothing like the CLR. I have CLR's and a K10. They sound nothing alike to my ears, and I would find it difficult to play through a K10 again now that I have used the CLR. But in a pinch, you will at least be able to hear yourself. Why not just pick up another (used) CLR?
I have a gig coming up and thought I might check out another option until the CLR comes back (whenever that might be).

Can you describe the difference in sound you refer to?

QSC has muddy midrange and hyped treble and bass response. The mids sounded like they were quite a distance away. Highs and lows were out of proportion to the mids too. But the mids sounding distant and muddy is in addition to them being "low in the mix".