Decent guitar and amp?

Harm

Experienced
Hi all,

a colleague decided that since I am a good guitarist with great sound(axe duh)and the same taste in music thatI am the go-to guy for advice.
He likes rock,Petrucci etc, you het the picture. Now here we go: he has NO gear and NO skills so far. As far as I know he has an acoustic he sometimes rambles on.
He asked me advice for a lead guitar set for a buget of 1000 euros. yes, guitar AND amp have to come out of that budget.
He seems to linger towards Ibanez for guitar.
any thoughts? Advice?
Thanks in advance, Harm

I would recommend a Shecter guitar.
For $900.00 US dollars you could buy a Schecter Hellraiser C-1. I own one, and it’s a great guitar for the money. I would spend most of the budget on a good guitar, and the rest on a cheaper amplifier, especially for a beginner. Have a great day! 😀🎸

I'd agree on allocating more $ towards a guitar that feels good in hands so you're inspired to learn and continue to play. Amps are so cheap nowadays, esp the endless choices of digital amps that would be perfect for a beginner. I'll never forget the moment i first picked up kramer nightswan in the store and it was that Wayne and Garth ....oh yes, i will have you ' moment. For an amp, yamaha THR or boss katana even a *cough cough line 6. Don't lynch me.

I'd say buy the guitar and no amp to start. An amp can always be got later when you have developed a sense of rhythm and you are wanting to play leads. But you have got to get a good sense of time and strumming your way through songs is absolutely fine unplugged.

I'd say buy the guitar and no amp to start. An amp can always be got later when you have developed a sense of rhythm and you are wanting to play leads. But you have got to get a good sense of time and strumming your way through songs is absolutely fine unplugged.

I get your point, but that is not what be wants. Not very motivating either, I would think. Good sound makes you practice more