Is arrived the time for Axe-Fx III to profile an amp?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thanks Leon! Really good and informative video.
I have a question. Can you use the line out of a THD Hotplate for the mic + DI method of capturing irs?

IIRC the Hotplate is a resistive load - I'd usually advocate for a reactive load, but if you set the Axe-Fx III amp block speaker impedance to the resistive type, match with the hotplate and then try other impedance curves in the amp block you should get some very usable results.

I have something even better. Waiting for my patent approval.
I am new to modelling, Only 10 months since i bought the axe, coming from amps and pedals....and i still love analog stuff...but after the plexi 6CA7 was added, the default settings were bass and treble at 11 o'clock and mids all the way with the master all the way!! That outlook gave a new direction to my tone dialing, i can now dial mostly everything to my satisfaction!!!
Eagerly waiting for the surprise!!

IIRC the Hotplate is a resistive load - I'd usually advocate for a reactive load, but if you set the Axe-Fx III amp block speaker impedance to the resistive type, match with the hotplate and then try other impedance curves in the amp block you should get some very usable results.
IIRC the Hotplate is "semi-reactive". It uses it's cooling fan's inherent inductance as a reactive load. Not very accurate but not purely resistive.

What's the difference between a resistive load and a reactive load, which is better?.

I have a hotplate and I see the rivera rockcrusher is a reactive load.

The hotplate also lets you use an LED at the front to do... something. Can't remember what it's supposed to do but I never noticed any difference. I also never really got the fan to spin either :(

I have a Weber MiniMass for my combo - think it uses a speaker motor internally to absorb the amps power - is that considered a reactive load?