IF YOU READ NOTHING ELSE, READ THIS!

One of my techs used to work in the Army. He told me a story about how he got a radio to repair one day and the tag read "Does not work in OFF mode".
I’ve seen that statement on signs posted at military locations. Usually starts with “WARNING!” Really? You have to be told that?

Great advice. For me, I think way too many folks use rigs that are way too complicated. We constantly hear about these issues and then see a description of the rig and it’s mind numbing. An example are wireless units. I can’t tell you how many guys I see buy these expensive wireless rigs to play gigs where there never get more than 5 feet from their amp the whole night. I guess I’m old school but my guitar goes in the front of the Ax, the Ax goes straight to my cabinet and/or FOH and I have 2 pedals that plug straight in to the FC12. So, my humble amendment to the rule would be: if you don’t need it, take it out!

I'm a professional sound designer currently working at a big 5 tech company on cutting edge audio technology. As an expert, I can say that things sound best when the speakers are turned on.

Thanks Cliff! Golden rule for sure.

Oh man. I got new QSC K12s and was all excited for my first gig with them. So we start playing and like 3 songs in someone is like dude there's no sound from the left side. I panicked for a minute until I realized the thing was just off. I don't even know I didn't notice during sound check.

Yeah I used to work in phone support for a TV cable company here in Portugal when I was young. People would be offended all the time when I asked them to check the remote batteries and it the plug was in or if the tv was on. I usually had to insist for them to check again because I "made something to fix it" (I didn't) and a large percentage of the time yeah it was something obvious like that happening.

So I understand your pain.