Rotovibe/ Univibe sounds

Ant Music

Fractal Fanatic
Hey guys. I love Univibe and rotovibe tones but I’ve struggled to really get that squishy pulsating tone happening on the Axe Fx 2. I’d love to hear any tips and suggestions.

Here’s a shoot out between a couple of pedals that really nail the sound I’m after. Enjoy....

I've been using these settings since 2011 (based on several boutique Univibe clones I used to have back then), it didn't take much adjusting:

Vibe mode:
VIBE.jpg
ATTENTION!!! The Phaser parameter should be set to "Vibe" (instead of "Normal")!!!

Vibrato mode:
VIBRATO.jpg

Adjust the Level and Tone to your taste (depending on the guitar, the rest of your preset etc) and fine tune the Depth for your needs. Ignore my Rate values, I have a modifier so I can control it via exp pedal.

See if those do the job and take it from there.

Last edited:
Legend. Thanks mate. I’ll give this a shot and see what I think. I’m really trying to get that colourful, squishy, rich throbbing thing happening. It’s such a mesmerising sound and I hope like crazy I can nail it.

And I like the idea of having expression control of the rate like an original Univibe unit. I’ll go for that too.

Legend. Thanks mate. I’ll give this a shot and see what I think. I’m really trying to get that colourful, squishy, rich throbbing thing happening. It’s such a mesmerising sound and I hope like crazy I can nail it.

No worries, I hope you nail the sound you're after! If those settings don't do it for you just experiment whith one setting at a time so you know how it affects the sound or/and the behaviour.

And I like the idea of having expression control of the rate like an original Univibe unit. I’ll go for that too.

Yeah, most of my vibes had exp pedals so I couldn't do otherwise. In fact since I was so used of using several analog ones I even assign an X/Y switch where X will be the Vibe mode and Y the Vibrato mode, again just like my fav analog vibes.