Is Amazon Rigging the Ratings System?

So I need to put together a new computer and I've been looking for computer parts. My usual MO is to go to Amazon and look at the ratings breakdown. If more than, say, 60% of reviews are 5 stars then I consider the product safe.

But then I started looking closer and something doesn't add up. For example I was looking at a new monitor. The ratings say that only 36% of the ratings are 5 stars. Okay. But there are 14 ratings and 8 of them are 5 stars. ????? That's much greater than 36%. Furthermore it says 19% of the ratings are 1 star but there's only ONE rating with a 1 star rating.

Is Amazon manipulating the ratings to favor certain products and discourage other products? I wouldn't put it past them.
FWIW, I’m an engineer, often having Weibull++, MathCad, Excel, and word docs opened simultaneously. I bought one of these and couldn’t be happier...Monitor

I do not trust good reviews so I only read the bad ones.
I always ask how bad things are...I’m sure in the pessimist and paranoiac side of things...

The problem goes both ways. People also post negative reviews on competitors sites - products, hotels, restaurants, you name it. So bottom line, you have no real idea unless you personally know someone who can tell you.

Another thing that really sucks is reading so many reviews that say they received a “knock-off” product, even sold and shipped by Amazon. Not sure if these reviews are real or not, but just because of them, I only order SD cards and the like, straight from the manufacturer any more.

A student I know made some extra money in the following way:
Buys a Chinese article and leaves a positive rating, then gets reimbursed and resells the article. He stopped as he got fed up with the hassle. Of course this is forbidden but it exists..; and of course Amazon is absolutely not concerned by that 🤓
So article reviews don't bother that much to me.