Axe-Edit

Its a retired product so I wouldn't get my hopes up on an update on this software. Perhaps some computer wiz can chime in with some clever workaround

I don't think its all that much work to build the apps for 64 bit only, however I'm no developers so I could be wrong. Plus it would take the incentive to do so. But for now at a price you could run an older version of Mac OSX in VMware Fusion or Parallels Desktop to keep running 32 bit versions. Not exactly an ideal solution but there are options. Also you could partition with the older OS on one.

I generally jump on ever beta available of OSX. Not this time around sadly. Doing inventory of what apps are 64 and 32 bit for me is a mixed bag of "Oh shit". Adobe CS6 being the one I hate to loose the most, its bought and payed for and no intention of moving to the cloud subscription. So I guess I have no choice but to go with a virtual machine to run legacy apps and eat a ton of drive space in doing so.

Last edited:
Catalina has not been released yet. it is a beta and therefore many apps may not work.

It would still be nice to hear from Michael Pickens on the subject. With FM3 launching soon I'm sure everyone at fractal is busy. I think its a 50/50 mixed bag of people that will be upgrading to Catalina. Im sure most Mac users with legacy software will be in the same sinking boat.

In fairness to Apple it's not like this is a big surprise to everyone running Mojave as it warns you the end is coming every time you launch a 32 bit app.

I don't think its all that much work to build the apps for 64 bit only, however I'm no developers so I could be wrong. Plus it would take the incentive to do so. But for now at a price you could run an older version of Mac OSX in VMware Fusion or Parallels Desktop to keep running 32 bit versions. Not exactly an ideal solution but there are options. Also you could partition with the older OS on one.