Controlling Volume block using MFC-101

neale dunham

Experienced
Does anyone have a step by step instruction list of how to set up the Axe fx 3 and Mfc101 to control the Volume block?

I have read the Cabir.eu tutorial but unfortunately i am not a midi expert.
I have managed to get my expression pedal to control the Volume block by connecting it straight to my Axefx that part was easy, but i wanted to keep my cabling neat onstage and use the expression jack of the mfc101.

I am sure this must be possible right?

I understand that the cc numbers need to match in order for the Mfc to tell the axe what to do but the tutotrial is telling me to set external control 1 to 100% which i have done on the axe.

The confusing part for me is that when i try to set the cc number the tutorial says set to NONE.

Which settings need to be set to "NONE" ? The axe or the Mfc? or both? and how?

Also why are there numerous other controls on that list that have a value of NONE? they cant all be of this value otherwise they would all change if set to this value surely?

Very confusing, please help.

The tutorial you have posted above is for axe 2 and the walkthrough screen on his axe is completely different to mine?

Oh I didn’t see this was for the Axe3.

Regardless, the steps are the same, just slightly different screens. Instead of CTRL menu on the Axe2, use the Setup>Midi menu on the 3.

It looks as though the axe fx 2 I/O has parameters to change the values of external control values and it also lists all of the cc values.

In Axe 3 i have 16 Ext controls that can be set either 0 or 100% so i cannot follow the tutorial as the instructions do not match?

I think you're confusing the External Control Init Values with the MIDI CC values of the External Controllers.

MIDI can be a complex topic. Obviously you're struggling. You would be far better off with using an FC-6 or FC-12 controller.

Yes i probably am Yek

If only i could get an FC-12 here in the UK *sigh*