Just got an Axe-Fx II, first post

Toowoombaus

Hi Guys,

new guy here. O.K. so after a five year boutique guitar amp odyssey fueled by lots of time on The Gear Page I got an Axe FX ii.

20 years ago I bought a POD 1 and used it a lot. I took it to Ireland to produce a band and record their album on Pro Tools in a Barn and the engineer bought it from me when we were finished because they weren't available over there yet.
I used it live plugged into the FX returns of my Rivera TBR-2 stereo tube head and I liked it.

Well time passed and I realized I had a lot to learn about tone. I'm an audio engineer and I study and try to stay current so I notice a lot of people talking about the Fractal and I would read posts about it.
(On TGP they keep modeling and amp guys separated)
After spending a month trying to decide the next amp to buy I stumbled across the Axe FX again...

So I found a smoking deal on a ii and it was all jacked up, half the presets made no sound there was delay on all of them, it was a mess. So in one day I downloaded everything, the bot, new factory banks, the Ares beta firmware and it is working like a champ.

I'm running it into two KRK V8 studio monitors. I really appreciate the level of detail they’ve built into it.
I’ve already read the manual front to back and that's helpful but I can't believe the things you can dial in.

Things like preamp and power tube type, bias, compression, mics, the power supply section too much stuff to list! The graphic is really powerful probably the most responsive of any digital EQ I have ever used.

What I didn't expect was the sag and feel, it feels like a tube amp. I was expecting it to sound good and feel like the POD... glad I was wrong.

The quality of the effects is pretty high much higher than the plugins I've gotten used to in Pro Tools and Logic.
Coming from owning a rack system back in the 90's I look forward to exploring the effects, the pitch section is intriguing.