Thinking about selling ASM-12s

80sMetalDude

Inspired
So I really 'Thought' I loved my ASM12 cabs until I started playing through my HS8 monitors... there is something I cannot put my ears around what that is.

There is something in the clarity when I play through the monitors that doesn't seem to come through the Friedmans.

Am I crazy?? Did my eyes just open up to the other opinions I've been hearing on them LoL!!

It's something in the mids I think... not sure yet.

You are not crazy, the Friedmans was never made to be an accurate representation of the sound that's coming out. They are made to make guitar modellers sound good which effectively means adding an EQ filter across the speakers, or designing the speaker in such a way that certain frequencies are accentuated and others cut. When rocking out with a Friedman BE model and a greenback cab ir, I think the ASM sounded awesome but for other stuff, not so much. I ended up selling mine, bought another CLR and couldn't be happier.

Thx. I spent time last night switching back and forth between the ASM12 and HS8 with my Mackie big knob and the best way I can describe it is the HS8 sound positioned right there in your face... the ASM12 felt 'removed'

Now I fully understand what folks meant that said they sounded like a blanket was over them because that's it in a nutshell really.

I feel bad for all the posts I made raving about the ASM12 now. They were made with no reference/experience witht other FRFR products so all I knew was how much I liked what I heard...

They are indeed nice cabs and sound great but apparently need a global EQ adjustment or something... will need to mess with that before being hasty. Also I'm making all my comments on casual jamming DB level.

Seems everyone loves their CLRs.