Amp simulator vs “the real thing” argument

AJ 83

I keep seeing online arguments about amp simulators like the Axe FX III that I just bought vs “the real thing”. I have come to the conclusion that in my opinion this is argument is a total waste of time and completely irrelevant for me.

I have been playing guitar for about 15 years now, and I have never enjoyed playing my guitar more than I have since I purchased the axe fix III about a month ago. It feels great, it sounds great, and with the axe fx and my Ernie Ball majesty I have yet to find a to a tone that I can’t dial in quickly and that sounds and feels amazing.

I bought the FX III to take advantage of the effects for my Mesa JP2C, which is an amazing amp in my opinion. But since buying the FX III I have stopped playing my Mesa all together and I am just playing out of the FX III.

When you are excited to practice scales and modes because of how you sound and how it feels, you know you have found guitar amp gold.

I grade guitars and amps by how much I enjoy playing them and that is based on how they sound and feel. And based on that criteria, the Axe FX III is a complete winner.

Amazing job Fractal!!!

If you are questioning whether or not to buy an FX III, don’t. It is so much fun and sounds so great that I cannot give it a higher recommendation. If you want to enjoy playing guitar buy one, now.

Now if You could just release the FX 12 pedalboard I will be in guitar heaven.

I’m going to go enjoy playing my guitar some more!

Aaron

Real is essentially what one gets used to hearing.

I’m play my III 99.9% of the time and it’s how I’m used to hearing my guitar tone. When I plug into some hardware amps at buddies houses, they don’t sound “real” to me, In that they don’t sound “better”. Volume can be an issue, the sound can be a bit too harsh, etc.
I don’t play their amp and think “I need to buy this”, instead I appreciate my Axe even more.