tc electronic 1210 worth buying or can the axe get close?

Metal1993

Inspired
I have heard several clips of this chorus and I do love it. But they are very very expensive used out there in the world. Is it worth paying the kind of money it would take to get one used or can the axe get close to it?

Close? You won't be able to tell the difference.
I have been in love with the the 1210 ever since i started playing some 28 years ago.i own two of them.i would love to be able to recreate them in the axe fx but i haven't been anle to nail it yet.there is always something missing.Could you please give us a preset or settings or some hint how to set it up?

I've replaced 1210s for several top Fractal Artists. Maybe you are hearing something they weren't.
I'd be happy to create presets for you, but you'd need to send me the unit.

EDIT: Looking back on my blocks from one of the sessions I alluded to above (the Lifeson rig) we did the chorus and expander pieces, but never migrated the Flanger. I don't remember why but it must have been time. I am confident I could nail this too however. The Axe-Fx III Flanger is leagues farther on than was that in the II back in 2012!

Last edited:
Gotta be a blast to get a chance to play with all those toys though :)

Though once you realize you can recreate 99% of them in the Axe the lustre probably wears off a bit lol

I know when I finally had money and bought a lot of stuff I always pinned for in my teen years it wasn’t nearly as cool as I expected and often my Axe II sounded better

AXE FX put the kabosh on my pedal building that's for sure.

It ironically started mine. I came to realize a certain fuzz sound etc, I wanted was due to a transistor getting voltage starved or having a certain hfe et al, and I couldn’t find parameters to account for those things, but realized that I could socked a transistor and try some different ones til I got the tone I was after, often a sound so bad it’s good lol