Austin Buddy Looks Good, But What Else Do You Recommend?

KAM

I decided to cave in and buy a good preset pack. I've been looking at Austin Buddy simply because of how well the package covers a wide variety of amps and the quality the patches seem to have. It seems to me that the AxeFX excels at cleans and Marshall type amps most of all. I'm still new to the unit, but that's my impression thus far. Therefore, I don't really want to invest in clean amps since I don't play clean very often anyway. I'm interested mainly in metal, black metal, hard rock, and classic rock covers.

I tend to play a lot of Maiden, Satriani, and Yngwie kind of stuff, but lately have gotten into a lot of Metallica, Lamb of God, Pantera, etc.. In fact, I recently learned the solo to Tornado of Souls and want to also find a good Megadeth sound. Then I know some classic rock tunes like various Pink Floyd songs, Rock and Roll Hoochie Koo, Styx, etc...

There are a ton of youtube guys selling patches, and I've come across a few commercial looking sites that seem to offer decent packs. What do you suggest to fit my needs and with the best quality? Thanks in advance.

I’d say learn the box. Research the gear the guys use and recreate. What i did was setup a virtual pedalboard and copy it and swap out amps and cabs appropriately. Not going to happen overnight. If you have no patience, go presets packs. IMHO ymmv.

I’d say learn the box. Research the gear the guys use and recreate. What i did was setup a virtual pedalboard and copy it and swap out amps and cabs appropriately. Not going to happen overnight. If you have no patience,
go presets packs. IMHO ymmv.

I thought buying a preset pack might help me learn as well as get me up and running faster. I've been collecting lists of player's rigs and have made about 5 decent patches on my own based on them so far. I've downloaded a bunch of tone matched patches, but maybe 1 out of 10 seems to be worth keeping.