Lack of high end in recording

I just started recording with the ax8 and feel I have to post eq everything I do. Am I doing something or not doing something to alleviate this issue?

People add EQ after recording all the time.

You might be hearing your actual guitar while recording, then not hearing it on playback, so the EQ changes according to your ears, but the tone had always sounded like that.

Thanks for replying , I don't know maybe it's just me. I compared the recording to those I have using bias fx. Do not have the same issue.im new to this machine only had it a few days..really want to use it as my main recording piece. I have it plugged in to a presonus 2x2 with clean out mono. Could this be the issue?

First thing: is the tone different when you play live vs listen to playback?

Can't you just add high end to the AX8 amps?

No the tone is the same,when i play thru my own can it sounds great.ivtried multiple cabs and even some kazrog cabs still the same I'm just not hearing the higher frequencies..

Do you have power amp and cab sims on?

Remember you're hearing the sound of a cab captured through a microphone when you record DI with the Axe; this is a very different experience to playing with the amp in the room. Volume plays a huge part (read up about the Fletcher Munson effect).

Choose the right IR (mic choice and position are a huge factor) and dial in your amp eq to taste.

After messing around a bit with cables, these do make a big difference..I'm using monster xlr out to my presonus interface . Sound is much better..

After messing around a bit with cables, these do make a big difference..I'm using monster xlr out to my presonus interface . Sound is much better..
That will only make a difference in level—which could account for what you're hearing. Louder sounds appears to have more highs.

That will only make a difference in level—which could account for what you're hearing. Louder sounds appears to have more highs.