Zendrive + AC15TB

philipacamaniac

Fractal Fanatic
Here's a fun preset using a Hermida Zendrive ("Zen Master") into an analog-style delay, into a Vox AC-15 Top Boost ("Class A 15W TB") amp / Morgan AC-20 1x12 cab (factory #119).

I programmed two scenes:
  • Scene 1: Lead/Chime. This has some thick delays, Multidelay Plex Shift and reverb.
  • Scene 2: Rhythm. Main delay turned off. A scene controller brings the mix and feedback down in the other verbs/delays/etc.
Here's a sample recording using 4 layers all from this preset. The lead part is the humbucker in my Godin SD SSH on Scene 1, the chime is pup position 4 also on Scene 1. The chunky parts are back to the humbucker and Scene 2, using a couple different real-world drive pedals to boost the Zendrive.

And here's the song that inspired the patch:

Attachments

• Zendrive + AC15TB.syx
    12.6 KB · Views: 382
I'm loving this one. What s the reasoning for breaking off the reverb and multi down another path. I'm pretty new to the device and I'm just curious why this is done. I imagine it washes out the guitar signal less. Am I right.

I'm loving this one. What s the reasoning for breaking off the reverb and multi down another path. I'm pretty new to the device and I'm just curious why this is done. I imagine it washes out the guitar signal less. Am I right.

Yes, the reverb and MultiDelay are in parallel with the main signal. That is mainly so that the reverb can be at 100% mix, and I can feed the Multi directly into the reverb. That setup diffuses the Multi and makes it sound like a second, very ambient reverb block.

The parallel setup also makes it so that the dry guitar volume doesn't change (indeed, "it washes out the guitar signal less").

The takeaway from this preset for me: I want to use a boutique Class A model like the Trainwreck or Morgan, but this AC-15 model was easier and quicker to dial in the sound I hear in my head.