Pre-Amp AND Pre+Power-Amp-Bock in parallel?

glombi

Inspired
Hi,

I'm new to FAS and this forum. But I was considering to set up a simple AX8-rig for the following purposes:

• home and practice use mainly with headphones and MAC-recording (digital out to interface, including power-amp and cab-sim)
  • rehearsals and gigs with my tube power-amp (1/4" out, pre-amp only, w/o power-amp and cab-sim) and PA (XLR, with power-amp and cab-sim) in parallel. (Yes, I would like to have some tubes involved in my Live sound, and no miced signal)
Yesterday I flipped through the manual and learned that the power-amp-block can only be turned on/off by a global parameter. So it does not seem possible to have one output with pre-amp only and the other with the full amp-block in parallel? Could anybody please confirm? Or does anybody maybe have a workaround/solution for this?

Additionaly I would like to get confirmation, that it's not possible to place modulating effects in between pre- and power-amp, but that these have to go post the amp-block? So I would not be able to recreate my physical rig?

Both issues would make the AX8 the not so perfect solution for me, saving me some money ;-)

Thanks and regards,
glombi

No you can not run the preamp and power amp in parallel. (Can't do it on axe fx either) there are tons of guys who use can sims to foh and use a real cab ect on stage. I am sure they will all chime in soon on how exactly that works

Page 46 in the manual - turn the Supply Sag parameter down in your amp block to defeat power amp modeling in just that preset. However, since there is only one amp per preset, that will disable power amp modeling entirely for that preset and you'll only have a preamp.

On the Axe FX II, the method would be to add two identical amp blocks in parallel, with Supply Sag turned off on one of them.

Thank you both for the quick respones :)

Too bad the AX doesn't seem to be usable in the way I intented to... :cool: