What causes this volume difference?

sl33py

Loving FW18... just one Q: Is a real life Princeton (Prince Tone) about 1/2 as loud as the Princeton Reverb (Prince Tone Rev), with both on 10?

The reason I ask is because in the same patch, just switching between the two amps doubles the volume. The Prince Tone NR is somewhere between. This is with the MV on 10 in the patch, level -2, input drive 5, no other effects, same cab etc. Is it because the amps are being modelled accurately compared to each other and the Reverb has an extra tube IRL (I presume, for the reverb), giving it more volume when cranked? Just trying to understand this, as I've noticed a similar situation with a few amp variants so far.

Thanks in advance.

I've no real world experience with those amps but I can't imagine they're that drastically different in volume. Just use the output meters in the I/O menu to help you balance the two amps.

I started a thread in "wishes" a while ago asking for amp output levels to be equal but most were against it stating its not authentic. Wasn't referring to master volume but actual output level and that's what we do when balancing program levels anyway! It's not a big deal to balance your programs, just sucks when you're flipping thru amp models auditioning. If output level was that important for authenticity, an IR created from a 4x12 with a speaker sensivity of 96dB should be way louder than a single 12" speaker with a sensitivity of say 84dB. I rest my case, LOL.

Loving FW18... just one Q: Is a real life Princeton (Prince Tone) about 1/2 as loud as the Princeton Reverb (Prince Tone Rev), with both on 10?