Mic for horn section: Rode NT1 or ?

yek

Contact Fractal for your Custom Title
I need a mic for a horn section at rehearsals.
Horns are loud and fast.

I guess I need a large diaphragm condenser. Mono.
Must be pretty cheap.

Important: no EQ-ing options (Jamhub), so the mic must output a mix-ready signal, not too harsh (we're talking trumpet and trombone).

AKG C3000 and Rode NT1 are candidates.
Anyone with experience/advice?

Last edited:
I'm not very experienced with microphones, but I can tell you that I'm very happy with all the results that I've been able to achieve with my Rode NT1A so far (vocals and acoustic guitar). It was recommended to me by a soundguy who did a lot of mic testing and found it to be very good, especially in its price range.

+1 on the Rode mic's I used to have a K2 which was a really transparent mic, though AKG makes some really good mic's as well. Probably will boil down to what you like best.

I spent a little extra and got the NT2A over the NT1A after reading numerous reviews. If you shop you can find some good package deals with shock mount (the one that comes with it was underwhelming) and pop filters. The NT2A has pickup patterns, pad, and high pass filter switches on the mic making it very versatile. I haven't used it much but it has performed well when I have.

You might also want to look into the Blue Bluebird. It gets a lot of good reviews.

Last edited:
I would cast my vote for the Rode too, great mic for the dollars. I really don't like the C3000 much, but who knows, maybe its harsh honky character would be perfect for horns. Just don't try to put a condenser up too close to a trumpet...

Thanks guys.

Now the choice is down to a NT2A or Bluebird.

I'll probably go for the NT2A because of its many onboard configuration options.

Last edited: