Understanding amplifier wattage

ethrbunny

Inspired
Can someone help me to understand what's *truly* being discussed when Im looking at wattage for a power amp?

I have the reactor 50/50 - its plenty loud at low settings. Now Im considering the QSC 12 - which advertises 1000 watts. I don't really want 200x but I assume that's not what Im getting.

Throw me a clue here.

i am not an expert, but i believe what you're referring to is the fact that tube watts seem louder than solid state watts. below is a link to an interesting paper on the tube vs transistor comparison, and below that an excerpt which explains why tubes seem louder.

Butler Audio: Tubes vs. Transistors