Importance of Guitar Cable Capacitance with AxeFX vs Tube Amp

THX

In a traditional tube amp system, the guitar cable itself acts as a capacitor in the signal chain between the guitar's pickup and the amp's pre-amp stage (along with stomp boxes, etc ahead of the amp). This impacts the response characteristics of the pre-amp stage, etc.

IGNORING the resonance / eq / filter effects of the guitar cable's capacitance on the actual transmitted signal, does the AXE-FX model the interaction of being presented with different capacitances at the input jack and how the pre-amp stage responds to these variations?

It would seem the answer is "NO", since I'm assuming the input signal immediately undergoes the A/D conversion as soon as it enters the AXE-FX and that's why Cliff was gracious enough to provide us a plethora of pre-amp / amp adjustments. However, I was curious as to what the real answer is.

I'm a mechanical engineer by trade and my EE is a little rusty. This it the kind of crap I think about on my day off of work and I'm looking at buying a new guitar cable. Sorry, it's a curse; it drives my wife crazy :) !

Thanks in advance.

The incoming signal is already affected by the capacitance of the cable in conjunction wit the AFX's input resistance to form the passive filter created by the RC ckt created by the cable in conjunction with the device input. Modeling it twice (the passive RC filter is the effect of that capacitance) would not make any sense since it is physically there and IIRC, the AFX varies its input impedance in accordance with its signal chain. If you want to roll off highs further put a low pass filter block at the input. ;)

The input circuitry of the Axe FX does mimic the input impedance of different amps and pedals, but I'm not sure to what extent the reactive nature of that connection is recreated. I would think it would respond more like a tube amp with a buffer pedal in front.